Tennis Australian Open

The Australian Open is among the four tennis majors performed on the courts of Melbourne Park in the finish of The month of january every year. The tournament has ended a century old now since its inaugural year in 1905 and it has been performed on numerous surfaces using the present one being Plexicushion. The tournament features all of the competitions you realized in a major tennis sports event with women’s and men’s singles, mixed doubles along with a junior championship.

The attendances have risen continuously through the years with simply the united states Open attracting a larger crowd – over 660,000 this year. The elevated attendances are due mainly towards the proceed to the reason built Melbourne Park because the venue at Kooyong Lawn Tennis Club was not able to deal with growing demands of the passionate Melbourne tennis community. It’s thought that the men’s final is easily the most viewed occasions around australia.

These growing attendances and also the massive levels of sponsorship the event attracts helps to ensure that the winners prize cash is certainly worth polishing your tennis racket for. The winner’s cheque this season for that men’s competition was over £1.5 million. It was collected by Novak Djokovic who won the ultimate for that third consecutive year by beating Andy Murray, that helped him retain his number 1 World ranking. Victoria Azarenka required the women’s title – earning her second victory in the tournament by beating Li Na inside a 3 set final.

Along with the substantial prize money the men’s tournament champion is given the ‘Norman Brookes Challenge Cup’ and also the women’s champion has got the ‘Daphne Ackhurst Memorial Cup.’ They are esteemed trophies that attract massive existence altering sums of money in sponsorship and endorsements for that futures from the players who work very difficult to achieve them. Players can certainly earn huge amount of money on the rear of a fantastic a significant and profile players will attract the greatest brands in tennis who definitely are pleased to see their tennis racket at the disposal of a champion.

The Australian Open was opened up to professional players in 1969 and you will find 3 players who’ve won an archive 4 titles within the men’s game since that time: Andre Agassi, Roger Federer and lately joining them, Novak Djokovic. In the current era Serena Johnson stands alone because the 5 occasions champion from the women’s competition, dominating at that time between her first win in 2003 and her latest win this year.